My Four Kids…After Adding Number 4

Everyone acts differently when family dynamics change.  Sometimes kids react so differently depending on age, personality, and communication level.  All of my kids LOVE Amelia and have from day one.  Just because they love her though does not mean they have loved all the changes around here.  Let’s break it down.

Hadley:  Hadley has the SWEETEST, BIGGEST, most LOVING heart a four-year old can have.  It is TRULY amazing and she is such a blessing from God.  When God gave me her he knew I would need help in the years to come.  She is a great example (most of the time) for her siblings to follow.  She loves helping take care of Amelia and Harper.  She loves helping around the house.  In the past I have tried not to ask her for help too much because I want her to enjoy being a kid but now I just need help sometimes.  And luckily she really enjoys helping.  That help may be getting a diaper, picking out clothes (her favorite), holding Amelia, throwing something away, helping with lunch…anything.  One thing Hadley does also love is attention.  She wants attention (doesn’t everyone though really?)  She would do little things to get attention.  Like watching her throw something in the air five times.  Or going down the slide five different ways (that all really look similar).  Just little things.  I want to give her all of my attention but unfortunately I can’t.  She is ok with that a lot of times but she desires attention.  Luckily she has not acted out for negative attention.  Her attention seeking ways are pure and I am thankful for that.  I think since she has been through this change a couple of times she reacts better each time.  She has gone on a daddy/daughter date, had special “big kid” time with Noah, and even had a slumber party with her cousin this weekend but she desires to go on a date with mommy SOON!  She said I can’t even go on a date with Nathan first that me and her need to go on a date.  We will see about that, I would love a date with her but I think Nathan and I need a break! 🙂

loving on her sister

loving on her sister

H: "Take my picture!" I would love to beautiful girl

H: “Take my picture!”
I would love to beautiful girl

 

Noah: He is 2.5 and has struggled the most.  The amount of whining that has happened in this house over the last month is UNREAL.  He is getting a lot better lately.  We are trying to get him to use his words instead of just scream.  Some of this is just age and lack of communication (even though he is really talking fairly well I think).  Screams and cries and tears were how he would spend a good portion of his days.  One night he screamed and cried for HOURS.  It wasn’t his best night.  Like I said though, that is really improving a lot.  He is doing a lot better and somewhere has started using good manners.  He will say “May I squirt Harper?” (no).  He is  asking before he does things and he always says “May I.”  I don’t know where he heard it but I like it!  Another thing with Noah is his sleep.  Wowzers.  Two nights before Amelia was born he started running into our room, SCREAMING, and would not sleep in his room.  This continued once Amelia came home.  We decided this isn’t going to work.  A newborn, a 2.5 year old sleeping diagonally,two adults all in a queen sized bed.  Nope.  So instead of really fixing the problem we just created another one.  We started letting Hadley sleep with him on the top bunk of his bunk beds.  They talk and play usually later than they should most nights and sometimes wake up earlier BUT we don’t have any night-time visitors.  One night right after Amelia came home when he was attempting to run into our room he tripped on something, fell to the ground, and got a bloody nose.  In the middle of the night.  That is when he said, this can’t happen anymore.  I have no idea how long we will let this continue but for right now everyone is sleeping.  Someone said that it doesn’t matter where they are sleeping (as long as it is not my bed) as long as they are sleeping.  I try to keep that in mind.  Noah also is starting to want to help out.  He will throw things in the trash, help with the laundry a little bit.  It is sweet and nice.  Noah would be 100% just cuddling.  This boy loves his snuggles and is happy as long as he gets them.  Just hold him.  Snuggle him.  Love him.

One of the two times he has asked to hold Amelia

One of the two times he has asked to hold Amelia

daddy/son fishing time

daddy/son fishing time

snuggles

snuggles

 

Harper:  She is great and luckily is so young she doesn’t act too different.  She is definitely more aware of where mommy is though.  She used to not mind being held by anyone but now she is a little more cautious.  Especially if I am right there too.  Apparently when we were in the hospital she turned into a totally different baby.  She would ONLY let my mother in law hold her.  She wanted to be held, she was fussy.  If you know Harper at all, you know she is the MOST laid back baby in the world so for her to fuss is very unlike her.  My mom said that once we came home though she was back to normal Harper.  She had the biggest smile on her face.  She just missed her mommy.  It is crazy how even an 8 month old knows something is changing within her family.  Harper now is great, she loves to crawl and discover new things.  She is pretty independent which is nice when I have a newborn too.

beautiful babe

beautiful babe

DSC03401

Well that is all for now.  Amelia is on the verge of waking up.  I love my kids.  They are all different and unique in their own way and I love that.  I can’t wait to see how they all grow together and independently over the years.

Leave a Reply

