Grandma’s Come Together in Dessert Form: Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Now I realize that grandma’s are good cooks.  As far as I know/remember both of mine were great!  Unfortunately not many of their recipes are written down.  Nathan’s grandma’s (until recently) are/were both alive and still (somewhat) cooking.  I have heard great things about their cooking too.  One thing that Nathan’s Grandma (his dad’s mom) made is a strawberry-rhubarb pie.  I have heard about this pie before but never had it while grandma was still here with us.  Last weekend when we were at the lake Papa had mentioned something about having the recipe for her strawberry-rhubarb pie and when he said that I knew I had to make it.  I called him a couple of days later (as in the next day) to get the recipe.  He delivered a handwritten copy of the recipe through my mother-in-law.  Sweet man.  Now his recipe didn’t come with a crust recipe so I crossed sides of the Bowers’ family to Nathan’s mom’s mom, Nana, and used her pie crust recipe.  In the fall we make a lot of apple pie around here and that is usually when I use this curst recipe but I have used it for other pies and quiches before.  It is delicious and the easiest pie crust I have ever made.  No cold butter, tablespoons of ice water, or food processors needed.  Easy peasy.  It was so fun making this pie, bringing the two sides of the family together.  I just wish somehow I could have added my grandma’s in there too!  I miss both of them and only wish I had some of their recipes and knew what their specialities were.  Anyways.  So after making this pie I just HOPED it would taste good.  Hopefully as good as his Grandma’s recipe.  Well, Nathan approved!  He thought it was delicious!

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

recipe from Grandma Bowers (through Papa)

Filling:

1 1/2 cups sugar

3 T. cornstarch (Papa’s recipe called for quick cooking tapioca but my mother in law said I could switch that for cornstarch)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

3 cups rhubarb (cut into 1/2″ pieces)

2 cups fresh strawberries, sliced (Papa’s recipe called for 1 cup but I like my pies to have a lot of filling so I added more.  I think I would even add another cup next time)

1 teaspoon butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine all ingredients, except butter and let it sit while you make the pie crust.  Once pie crust is made, line a 9 inch pie pan with half pie crust.  Fill with fruit mixture. Dot 1 teaspoon  of butter over the pie filling.  Cover the filling with a lattice pie top with the rest of the pie crust.  Bake at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

Mother Riley’s Pie Crust

Recipe from my mother-in-law’s grandma

2 cups plain flour

3/4 cup oil

1/4 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.  Roll out half of the dough between two layers of wax paper.

 

Now, I just want to let everyone know, I love this pie dough but it was really hard to make a lattice top with it.  I would suggest just laying the top layer over the pie filling (no lattice), use another pie dough recipe, or just understand it may not look great but it will taste amazing 🙂

 

ENJOY!!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

