Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Bars

I know that strawberry and rhubarb go together but last year I attempted to make a strawberry-rhubarb pie and it was AWFUL.  I mean NOT good at all.  When I fail miserably at something baking it can be hard for me to jump back on that horse (biscuits, I CONSTANTLY fail at biscuits).  After Nathan making some comments and seeing rhubarb in the store a lot I thought I would try again.  I am sooo glad I did!  These are amazing! I also have decided I am a huge fan of crumble fruit bars.  I need to bake more of them.  Anyways, I think rhubarb season is coming to an end so you must rush out and make these soon.  One warning: there is kind of a lot of chopping, but totally worth it.  Totally.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Bars

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Bars

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Bars

recipe from here found on Pinterest

Crumble Mixture:

 

1 cup plus 3 tablespoons unsalted, cold butter

2 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup graham cracker crumbles (I didn’t have graham crackers so I used Nilla Wafers crumbles)

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons oats

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/8 teaspoons salt

zest of one lemon

1 egg plus 1 egg white

Filling:

3 cups chopped rhubarb

3 cups chopped strawberries

1/2 cup sugar

2 teaspoons of vanilla

1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons corn starch

 

Preheat oven 375 degrees.  Spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray.  Grate the refrigerated butter (not frozen or room temp but refrigerated).  Then stick in the freezer while the rest of the ingredients are combined.

In a large bowl, combine flour, graham cracker crumbles, 1/2 cup oats (reserve 2 tablespoons), sugar, brown sugar, salt, lemon zest, and eggs.  Mix with fork.  Add grated butter and combine with hands.  It will resemble crumbles the size of peas.  Reserve 2 cups of this mixture and pour the rest into the baking dish and press into pan.  With the reserved 2 cups add the 2 tablespoons of oats and stir.

In a different bowl combine the rhubarb, strawberries, sugar, vanilla and cornstarch.  Pour into the baking dish on top of the flour butter mixture.  Top with the rest of the flour butter mixture.

Bake for 45-50 minutes.  Cool and EAT!  Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

