Strawberry Cake

It is STRAWBERRY SEASON!!! At least here in Fayetteville strawberries are in full force!  While my mom was here last week we went strawberry picking which was so fun.  We went out to McGarrah farms in Lowell.  At the end of June they should have blackberries and raspberries.  We may just have to make another trip out there in a month!

IMG_6498

I am not sure why she is making this face.  Probably bugs.

IMG_6499

Noah just ate the berries.

IMG_6505

Well we ate a lot of the strawberries plain. I put strawberries every day on my cereal.  We put some in homemade ice cream.  And I baked cake with strawberries in it.  I tried to enjoy most of them in their natural state but you know me, I can’t pass up a chance to bake either.  This past Saturday was Nathan’s birthday so to celebrate we had a few friends over and I made a strawberry cake by Two Peas and their Pod.  Y’all should know by now, I love their site.  Many good and yummy things on their blog.  Check it out.  I actually found this recipe on Pinterest and when I saw it was their recipe I knew I had to make it.  It is easy and delicious.

IMG_6567

 

Strawberry Buttermilk Cake

recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod

6 tablespoons of butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla

1 pound fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced

2 tablespoons turbinado sugar, for sprinkling on top of the cake

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a 10 inch springform pan or pie plate.  Mix together the dry ingredients.  Flour, baking powder, and salt.  (The recipe said to sift but I didn’t and it still was delicious.)  Mix the butter and sugar in a stand mixer until pale in color.  Add egg, buttermilk, and vanilla until fluffy.  Then add the dry mixture to the mixing bowl.  Mix until incorporated.  Pour into prepared pan.  Add sliced strawberries on top of batter then add sugar, sprinkled on top.

Bake cake then minutes then turn down the heat to 325 degrees.  Bake until cake is golden brown; for 50-55 minutes.  Let cool in pan.  I served it with fresh whipped cream and some homemade ice cream with strawberries.  It was delicious!  It was all eaten up at the birthday celebration.  I recommend you make this quickly! It is so good!

Leave a Reply

