Nana’s Pound Cake

When I married into the Bowers family I married into a family with a lot of great cooks.  When Nathan and I were dating his mom would cook for us probably four times (at least) a week.  For my first Christmas I got a cookbook that MaryJane (my fabulous mother-in-law) made of family recipes.  Both of my grandmas were good cooks but they didn’t write anything down!  Problem for me.  I am thankful that someone in Nathan’s family decided to write something down.  This recipe is one from Nathan’s grandma, MaryJane’s mom, who lives in Alabama.  In my cookbook, under the title of this recipe it says, “this is the recipe that MaryJane used to catch Joe”.  Joe being her husband, Nathan’s dad.  How cute is that?  Well this is just a delicious cake.  I like to eat it plain usually but the other day I served it with fresh, up strawberries and some homemade whipped cream.  That was delightful too!

IMG_6101

Nana’s Pound Cake

3 sticks of butter

8 oz cream cheese

6 eggs

3 cups sugar

3 cups cake flour

1 tablespoon of vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter, sugar and cream cheese together in a stand mixer until combined.  Add the eggs.  Slowly add the flour then the vanilla. Pour into a greased and floured bundt pan. Bake for an hour and fifteen minutes.  Check for doneness with a toothpick.  (The original recipe says to bake for an hour but I always bake mine longer, it just usually isn’t done.  Sometimes it takes an hour and a half, just check it!)

Easy peasy right?  Now go make it!

IMG_6100

One thought on “Nana’s Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

