Spring Break: Telluride (Part 2)

The second day was similar to the first.  Nathan and I snowboarded/skied and Hadley went to ski school.  Even though the first day as ski school wasn’t the best day of her life, she was ready to go back.  I was glad.  This day (its Wednesday), Noah went to the nursery at the ski school/mountain base.  I thought he would have fun playing with other kids, playing with toys, and he would be in a kid friendly environment.  He had a lot of fun there.

snowboarding with a beautiful background

snowboarding with a beautiful background

ski date!

ski date!

This day, Nathan and I went up to the “top” of the mountain.  I called it the top but I guess you could go higher.  We only stayed on blues but there was a blue that went from the top to the bottom.  It was AMAZING being able to look on the other side of the mountain.  Also, to see the view.  I mean, WOW, beautiful.  I didn’t get any pictures, unfortunately.  It was cold and I did NOT want to take my hands out of my gloves.  Nathan got some with his phone but for some reason I have not seen them again.

We did go spy on Hadley again.  Here is another video of her skiing, day two.


She was able to make a pizza in this video!  (snow plow, wedge, whatever).  That was a big deal!  It made her realize a TINY TINY bit that she actually has control.

On this day, Nathan and I ate lunch on the mountain (continuing our fancy date), and then skied some more before we had to pick up the kids. We picked up Hadley while Noah was still sleeping so we could get a snack with her.  We got these things called popovers that are at the bottom of the mountain on a little cart.  They are AMAZING.  If you go to Telluride EVER search the popover cart out!  They have two, one in town and one by the mountain (Mountain Village).  The first day we got popovers filled with cinnamon and sugar with cream cheese frosting on top.  The second time we got them we got banana filled popovers topped with Nutella and raspberry jam, and brie filled popovers topped with apricot jelly.  Yumm, I could eat them every day.  And then be massive.  But yumm.

That night we played.

cutie

cutie

Hiding under the table

Hiding under the table

Hadley got marker on her face

Hadley got marker on her face

That afternoon it started snowing, quiet a bit.  It was beautiful.  Here are some pictures of the snow the next morning (Thursday morning).

I wish I had a before and after picture but basically the stairs didn't have snow, the hot tub didn't and most of the ground didn't have snow

I wish I had a before and after picture but basically the stairs didn’t have snow, the hot tub didn’t and most of the ground didn’t have snow

The view from my dad's house.  STUNNING.

The view from my dad’s house. STUNNING.

The "pilot's house"  not that we have a pilot, but a cute little house in the back

The “pilot’s house” not that we have a pilot, but a cute little house in the back

On Thursday, Nathan and I had already decided to take that day off of skiing and actually spend the day with the kids.  Doing something fun.  Hadley said she was done with ski school and that was ok with us.  It was sooo hard though for Nathan and I not to hit the slopes with all the fresh powder though!  We had fun spending the day with the family.  We decided to head out to go on a sleigh ride.  Noah really liked it.  He loved the horses.  Roudy, the sleigh ride leader and guy in charge kind of sacred Hadley a little bit.  He was VERY nice but I guess Hadley wasn’t used to the cowboy look.  I don’t know, she isn’t always a fan of men.  She had fun though.  Here is a picture of the kids waiting to go, watching a little tv.

DSC02091

Here are some pictures of our “Ride with Roudy” sleigh ride adventure.

loves the horses

loves the horses

I think Roudy is only standing there so I will take his picture.  Not Kidding.

I think Roudy is only standing there so I will take his picture. Not Kidding.

Some of the snow had already melted but still fun!

Some of the snow had already melted but still fun!

Those clouds are amazing!

Those clouds are amazing!

Us on the sleigh with Roudy

Us on the sleigh with Roudy

That afternoon we went to town and had more of the popovers, did a little shopping, and rode the gondola- what Hadley had been waiting for!

all of my loves

all of my loves

my two favorite boys!

my two favorite boys!

cutie!

cutie!

so excited to finally be on the gondola!

so excited to finally be on the gondola!

The next day we left.  A short trip but a fun one for sure!!  Here are two more pictures of the travel day.

Coloring with Grandpa while waiting for our transportation to pick us up

Coloring with Grandpa while waiting for our transportation to pick us up

In their cave at the airport

In their cave at the airport

We can’t wait to go back!  We have thought about trying to go back this summer but we are unsure of that right now.  We would certainly love to though.  Until then, we will enjoy being back home in Fayetteville!

 

 

Leave a Reply

