Naan

Recently, ok not that recently, Nathan’s cousin Emily asked me if I could show her how to make some naan.  I have never made naan before and I am not sure if I have ever even eaten naan before but I told her I would do it!  Nothing like a baking challenge right?  Well, it was pretty fun and it was delicious so I am very glad I made it.  I mean, I love all breads so why wouldn’t it be delicious?  I wish I had a piece with me right now so I could eat it as I am writing this.  I don’t need indian food to go with it.  Yummmm…. Ok, anyways back to the naan.  I made mine with some wheat flour but you certainly do not have to. Here is the recipe.

Finished product

Finished product

Whole Wheat Naan

adapted from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

1 1/2 c. lukewarm water (between 100-110 degrees)

3/4 T. granulated yeast (1 yeast packet)

3/4 T. salt

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 T. ghee or oil

Mix the yeast and salt with the water in the bowl for a stand mixer.  Add the flours and mix in stand mixer until combined.  Cover and allow to rise at room temperature for about 2 hours.

(You can refrigerate the dough for 14 days before use.)

When ready to make the naan divide the dough into about 7 pieces I think.  If you have a scale then weigh it out into 1/4 pound pieces.  Work each piece into a ball by stretching the surface of the dough around to the bottom.  Then with a rolling-pin (or you can use your hands) roll out each dough piece into a circle that is about 8 or 9 inches and about an 1/8 inch think.

rolling out the dough

rolling out the dough

Heat a 12 inch cast iron skillet over medium high heat.  When the pan is hot add ghee or oil.  Drop the rolled dough into the skillet and decrease the heat to medium, cover the skillet to trap the steam and heat.  Once it starts to bubble after a couple of seconds then flip over. It doesn’t need as long on the second side.  Remove the naan from the pan and repeat.

I added a tiny bit of oil in between almost every piece of bread.  You probably didn’t need to, but after I burnt two pieces I needed more oil. But be careful (I am a horrible fry-er) because I splashed oil up on my arm and now my arm is polka-dotted.

Hadley was funny.  She asked what all the spots were on my arm (I cooked these during nap time) when she woke up.  I told her I burned myself when frying the bread.  She said “oh, well maybe next time someone can teach you how to do it.”  Ha!  She didn’t know I am supposed to be teaching someone else how to do this!

First attempt.  Whoops.

First attempt. Whoops.

I did get better.  I burnt the first two pieces but the non-burnt part tasted GREAT.  I love all bread products but this whole wheat naan was some of the better bread I have had in a while.  Once I got the hang of the frying part, it was easy breezy!

Now everyone, go make some tikka masala and some naan!

 

Leave a Reply

