What I Ate: Meatloaf

Now I obviously did not plan these meals to be posted when I planned my meals.  I had thought about doing this series of posts for a while and after I grocery shopped I realized this week would be a good week to do it.  I don’t think most people admit to eating meatloaf.  I don’t know why though because it was honestly delicious.  So flavorful.  I used the Pioneer Woman recipe so why wouldn’t it be? 🙂 We even had our neighbors over, I warned them it was going to be meatloaf and they still wanted to come over.  They enjoyed it just as much as us!  Our of the four kids all of them enjoyed (except Hadley).  Hadley ate some but she isn’t a big meat-eater so it didn’t surprise me that she chowed down on the mashed potatoes and Florida fresh strawberries.  The three boys though, they plowed it down!  And so did all the adults.

Since this post is a day late I am skipping the breakfast and lunch stuff, but I ate it.  It was typical and good.  I continued to eat cookies too.  Here is the meat loaf recipe.

IMG_5564

My plate

The Pioneer Woman’s Meatloaf

1 c. milk

6 bread slices

2 lb. ground beef

1 c. grated parmesan cheese

1 t. salt

1/2 t. seasoned salt, like Lawry’s

ground black pepper

1/4-1/2 c. minced parsley

4 eggs, beaten

8-12 bacon slices

Tomato Gravy

1 1/2 c. ketchup

6 T. brown sugar

1 t. dry mustard

dash or two of hot sauce (or more if you like the heat)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Pour the milk over the bread in a bowl and allow to soak for a few minutes.  The add the ground beef, parmesan cheese, salt, seasoned salt, black pepper and parsley to the bowl.  Pour in the eggs.  With clean hands, mix the ingredients until well combined.  Then form the mixture into a loaf shape on a broiler pan (I used a cooling rack on top of a foil lined baking sheet but I think you could put this straight onto a baking sheet too).  The broiler pan allows the fat to drip down.  Lay bacon slices over the top of the meatloaf and tuck in the ends under the meatloaf.

Next make your tomato gravy by combining the ketchup, brown sugar, dry mustard, and hot sauce together.  Pour one-third of the mixture over the meatloaf.

Bake for 45 minutes then add another third to the top of the meatloaf and back for another 15 minutes.  Serve with remaining tomato gravy.

*My meatloaf took a lot longer than an hour to cook.  We kept taking it out and cutting some off and then putting it back in.  I would allow AT LEAST an hour and a half of oven time for the meatloaf.  Maybe even longer, not sure.

This meal was simple and very flavorful.  Such a good family, weeknight meal!  Enjoy!

 

Here are a couple of pictures from last night after dinner.  I didn’t get a good one of Noah so sorry he isn’t in these!

Mr. Adam is so fun!

Mr. Adam is so fun!

Hudson was very interested in this camera!

Hudson was very interested in this camera!

 

Leave a Reply

