What I Ate: Broccoli and Cheese Soup

Remember that post I did where I chronicled my day?  Well I did it because I always wonder what other people’s day looks like thought I thought I would share.  I also wonder what people eat every day.  I like food.  A lot.  Not just to eat it, but to read about it, talk about it, learn about it, anything involving food, I am game! This week I would like to share with you what I specifically for dinner but if you are lucky I will share what else I eat.

Today I ate the same thing I eat almost every morning for breakfast.  Cheerios (really they are Happy O’s, I like the knock off brand better) with strawberries, blueberries, and a banana.  For lunch I had a bowl of Rice Krispies (this is not normal but it was yummy) and some carrots and hummus.  For dinner I made some broccoli and cheese soup.  Normally I do everything I can for dinner while the kids are asleep.  Like today I would have made the entire soup and then just reheated it at dinner time.  That didn’t happen today though unfortunately.  Here is the recipe.

Not a great picture but a picture nonetheless

Not a great picture but a picture nonetheless

Broccoli and Cheese Soup (with Bacon)

1 onion, chopped

1/4 c. melted butter

1/4 c. flour

2 c. half and half

2 c. chicken broth

1/2 lb. broccoli, chopped

1 c. carrots, chopped

salt, pepper, nutmeg

8 oz freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese

8-10 slices of cooked bacon, crumbled

 

Melt the butter and then add the flour using a whisk (making a roux), cook for 3-5 minutes.  Stir constantly and then add the half and half and the chicken broth.  Simmer for about 15 minutes.

Add the broccoli, carrots and onions.  Cook over low heat with the lid on until the veggies are tender, about 10 minutes (this really depends on how small you cut up your veggies, the bigger they are the longer they take to cook).  Add salt, pepper, nutmeg, and cheese.  Stir until cheese melts.  Add bacon. Makes about 4 servings.

 

*freshly shredded cheese melts better than the pre-shredded stuff

** I cooked my bacon on a cooling rack on a cookie sheet lined with foil in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes, until crispy

 

This soup is creamy and delicious.  Since this soup was so chunky and thick it was easy for Noah to eat even.

One thought on “What I Ate: Broccoli and Cheese Soup

Leave a Reply

