Cream Cheese Brownies

I guess I am on a brownie kick lately.  Who can blame me though?  Brownies are delicious.  After making these the other day, I thought I should make these cream cheese brownies.  I made them for my bible study tonight but you don’t really need a reason.  I guess that was more of an excuse.  These are Nathan’s favorite brownies.  I don’t make them very often though because they use like 50 gazillion bowls and I am a hand washer.  I don’t stick bowls any larger than a cereal bowl in the dish washer.  I wash them by hand.  I know it’s weird but it’s the truth.  They are definitely worth washing the 50 gazillion bowls though every once in a while because they are good for your soul.  IMG_5484

Cream Cheese Brownies

From Southern Living Cookbook

4 (1-oz) unsweetened chocolate baking squares

4 (1-oz) semisweet chocolate baking squares (I used 1/2 c. chocolate chips)

1/3 c. butter

8 oz cream cheese

1/4 c. butter, softened

2 c. sugar, divided

6 large eggs, divided

1 t. vanilla

2 T. flour

1 1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips, divided

2 t. vanilla

1 c. flour

1 t. baking powder

1 t. salt

Microwave the first three ingredients in a glass bowl in 30 second intervals, until it is all melted, stirring in between.  Cool and set aside.

Beat the cream cheese and 1/4 c. butter at medium speed with an electric mixer (I just used a handheld one) until creamy.  Gradually add 1/2 c. sugar, beating well.  Add two eggs, one at a time, beating in between.  Stir in one teaspoon of vanilla.  Fold in two tablespoons of flour and 1/2 cup chocolate chips; set aside.

Beat remaining four eggs in a large bowl at medium speed.  Gradually add remaining 1 1/2 cups of sugar, beating well.  Add melted chocolate mixture and two teaspoons of vanilla; beat until blended.

Combine one cup of flour, baking powder, and salt; fold into chocolate batter until blended.  Stir in remaining one cup of chocolate chips.

Reserve some of the chocolate batter but spread a lot of it in a greased 13×9 inch pan.  Pour the cream cheese mixture over the batter.  Top with remaining chocolate batter and swirl mixture with a knife.

Bake at 325 degrees for 40-50 minutes.  Cool and EAT!

IMG_5485

Leave a Reply

