Pretzels!

For some reason last week I decided I wanted to make pretzels.  I don’t really know why, I don’t know the last time I had a pretzel.  I guess I just thought it would be fun.  So I made them today.  They are delicious.  I was impressed with myself.  I like being impressed with myself.  I got this book for my birthday back in October.  I have been baking some breads from it since.  I have been successful with almost all the breads too.  Only one failure and that was only a partial failure because it tasted yummy just didn’t look good.  The pretzel recipe I made was from this book.  It was the most different kind of bread I have ever made.  It was fun, a little more time-consuming though.  Worth it though for sure.

The finished product! (via Instagram)

The finished product! (via Instagram)

Soft Pretzels

The Dough

(adapted from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day)

1.5 cups luke-warm water (between 100-110 degrees)

3/4 T yeast (1 packet)

3/4 T kosher salt

3/4 T sugar

3 cups bread flour

Egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 T of water)

Coarse salt for sprinkling

 

Mix the yeast, salt, sugar, and water together in a stand mixer.  Add the flour and incorporate all.

Cover (not airtight) and allow to rest at room temperature until the dough rises, about 2 hours.

(you can make the dough and keep it in the refrigerator for up to 14 days)

After it has risen, dust the surface with flour and cut off a 3 ounce piece (about the size of a small peach).  Form a ball and then roll between hands to make a long rope.  It needs to be at least 12 inches long.

Twist the pretzel into a pretzel shape and repeat with the rest of the dough.  Let all the pretzel dough sit for about 20 minutes.

IMG_5378

Resting dough

Meanwhile, get a big pot of boiling water.  Once it is boiling, turn it down to a simmer.  Also, preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Drop the pretzels into the simmering water, just a few at a time so they don’t touch.

Sorry about the steamy picture but here they are simmering away

Sorry about the steamy picture but here they are simmering away

Let them simmer on one side for about 2 minutes and then flip them over using a slotted spoon and simmer for one more minute.  Then take them out and put them on a kitchen towel dusted with flour.

After all pretzels have been simmered then put them on a pizza stone and bake for 15 minutes.  Mine were doughy and delicious but if you like your pretzels a little more crisp, then leave them in there for another 5-10 minutes.

ready to be baked

ready to be baked

Enjoy!! I enjoyed one today that was warm and with yellow mustard.  Yumm-o!  Noah was not a fan of the mustard but Hadley was! My kinda girl right there. 😉

 

2 thoughts on “Pretzels!

Leave a Reply

