Braised Brussels Sprouts

Warning: I realize this is not baking but I love to cook almost as much as I love to bake so this is a cooking post.

Last night for dinner I made shrimp and grits and to go with it I made braised brussels sprouts.  It was a DELICIOUS dinner if I do say so myself.  I posted a picture on Instagram and I got a lot of comments and likes on the picture.  Now I think most people wanted the shrimp and grits but someone specifically asked for the brussels sprouts recipe on my blog.  Special request?!? Heck yes!  Of course I will, thanks for asking.

Now my husband loves brussels sprouts and he doesn’t understand why everyone doesn’t love them.  Luckily, for him, I like them (not love but they are tasty).  Forever ago (I mean years) he asked me to make this brussels sprouts recipe where the brussels sprouts are cooked in beer.  Now I do not have that recipe saved from years ago, this was before the Pinterest age even.  Last night I decided to try to find it though.  I found a recipe online and made it.  I am not sure if this is the one he wanted years ago but it was delicious and he enjoyed it to say the least! 

Dinner!  Brussels sprouts and shrimp and grits (not quiet finished yet)

Dinner! Brussels sprouts and shrimp and grits (not quiet finished yet)

Sorry about it not being a great picture (not that I’m a great photographer) but it’s the only one I had.

Braised Brussels Sprouts

recipe from A Spicy Perspective blog

2 lbs brussels sprouts

6 oz. bacon, cut up (I used about 6 slices)

1 shallot, peeled and sliced (I used a 1/4 of an onion)

12 oz beer

1/2 t. salt

1/4 t. pepper

pinch of crushed red pepper (I forgot to add this and it still tasted delicious)

Trim the ends of the brussels sprouts and cut in half.

Cook bacon over medium heat until crisp.  Add shallot/onion and sauté until soft, 2-3 minutes. Add the brussels sprouts and brown the outside for about 5 minutes.

Pour beer into brussels sprouts, add salt and (both) pepper(s).  Bring to a simmer and then lower heat.  Stir and simmer until beer has reduced to a glaze and the brussels sprouts are cooked.  About 12-15 minutes.

Enjoy!!

 

One thought on “Braised Brussels Sprouts

  1. That sounds like a great meal! You can’t beat shrimp and grits in my book, but I also love brussels sprouts – and braising them is one of my favorite ways to cook them. I’ll definitely have to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

