Cheese Centered Cornbread Muffins

These are delicious.  I made chili the other night JUST because I wanted to try this recipe.  Think about it.  Cheese in the middle of a cornbread muffin.  Not just any cheese too.  Well, you could use any cheese but I used fontina.  If you haven’t eaten any fontina cheese lately you should!  That stuff is delicious!  Especially when stuffed in corn bread muffins 😉  Also, there is rosemary in these muffins.  Who doesn’t love rosemary?  Its my favorite.

This recipe I got from a William Sonoma catalog.  I love when their catalogs have recipes in them- that DON’T feature some of their products.  I love their products but I am not going to go to their store just so I can make a chili with their chili started.

IMG_5204

Cheese Centered Cornbread Muffins

1 1/2 cups cornmeal

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 T. baking powder

1 1/2 t. salt

2 T sugar

2 t. chopped fresh rosemary

2 eggs

1 3/4 c. buttermilk

6 T. unsalted butter, melted

5 1/2 oz. fontina cheese, cut up into cubes

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray wells of muffin pan with a nonstick cooking spray or use liners like I did.

In a large bowl whisk together the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, and rosemary.  In another bowl, whisk together the eggs and buttermilk; pour into the cornmeal mixture.  Gently fold mixture until batter is blended and no lumps remain.

Spoon about 2 T. batter into each prepared well, place a cheese cube in center of each one.  Spoon remaining batter evenly on top, covering cheese cubes.  Bake until edges of cornbread are golden, about 15 minutes.

The recipe said it made 12 but mine made a lot more.  I doubled the recipe and it made at least 36 but I think more.  Also, you could really use any kind of cheese.  Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

