Joy the Baker’s White Chocolate & Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

In December I ate a lot of cookies.  I baked cookies almost every day of that month and of course you have to try some of them out.  I made  these cookies and these cookies and these cookies.  I made more but I made a lot of those.  I thought I would swear of baking cookies for at least a month but that didn’t happen.  When I saw these cookies on Joy the Baker‘s website I knew I had to make them.  MAPLE SYRUP in cookies with dried cherries, white chocolate and oatmeal!?!  Doesn’t that sound like an amazing combination.  Well it did to me.  I love using maple syrup and honey.  I am a sucker for those ingredients in baking.  I baked these cookies to give away some of them but I am already wanting to bake some more just for me.  If only Hadley didn’t eat all the dried cherries.  Darn her. JOKING.  Anyways, here is the delicious recipe. They were baked last Saturday before 8:30, y’all may have seen that in Instagram.  🙂

IMG_5137

Maple, White Chocolate and Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

1 1/2 t. cinnamon

1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temp (one stick)

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 t. pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup pure maple syrup (not Aunt Jemima!)

1 3/4 cup old-fashioned uncooked oats

3/4 cup dried cherries

1 cup white chocolate chunks (I used white chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper (or just go to Williams-Sonoma and buy these amazing guys).

In a medium bowl whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer combine butter and both sugars.  Beat on medium-low speed until combined and slightly fluffy,  3-5 minutes.  Stop the mixer and scrape down the bowl.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating for 1 minute between each addition.  Add vanilla and maple syrup and combine.

Add the flour mixture and beat only until incorporated.  Fold in oats, dried cherries and white chocolate chips/chunks.  Stir.

Spoon batter onto pans by tablespoons.  They grow a little, so leave about 2 inches between cookies.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown throughout.  Remove cookies from oven and cool cookies on sheet for 5 minutes then move to a wire rack.

These are delicious.  Here they are on her website, she is a much better photographer than I so check it!  She has many other delicious recipes too on her site.

Leave a Reply

