The Pioneer Woman’s Citrus Butter Cookies

Recently I made The Pioneer Woman’s Citrus Butter Cookies and let me tell people, they were DELICIOUS.  I am usually a chocolate cookie kind of person (but really I am just a cookie, pie, cupcake, ice cream, brownie kind of person) but these were great.  They kind of had a lot of butter in them and that might have had something to do with them.  I didn’t take any pictures, I apologize, but luckily Mrs. Ree has them on her website and in her second cookbook.  I will give y’all the recipe because I love looking at recipes and if y’all are looking at this post I would assume you do to.  Here is a picture of the cookies in the cookbook.  I am classy like that- iPhone picture of a picture. 🙂

Citrus Butter Cookies

Cookies:

2 large eggs

4 sticks butter, softened (yummm people, yum)

1 1/2 c. sugar

3 T orange, lemon, and lime zest (1 T of each)

4 c. flour

2 T orange, lemon, and/or lime juice (2 T total)

Icing:

3 c. powdered sugar

2 T whole milk

2 T combined orange, lemon and lime zest

juice of 1/2 lime

juice of 1/2 lemon

dash of salt

extra zest for decorating

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Separate eggs.  Set aside one of the egg whites for the icing.

Using a hand or stand mixer cream the butter and sugar until combined.  Add the egg yolks and mix until combined.  Add the 3 tablespoons of citrus zest.  Add flour and mix until combined.  Next, add 2 tablespoons of citrus juice and mix until the dough comes together.

Scoop out heaping teaspoons of dough, then roll them into balls between your hands.  Place them on a cookie sheet. (I  didn’t always roll them, as long as they were decently round and I think mine looked good)

Bake for 12-13 minutes or until they’re not quite starting to turn brown.  Remove from oven but keep on cookie sheet for 3-4 minutes.  Use a spatula to remove them and cook completely.

To make the icing combine the one egg white with the rest of the icing ingredients (except extra zest for sprinkling).  Whisk thoroughly until combined, adding either more powdered sugar or more juice until it reaches a pourable consistency.

Drizzle the icing across the cookies in several lines and then repeat in other direction.

Sprinkle them with extra zest before the icing sets.

In my opinion, this icing really makes the cookies.  I tasted some without the icing and it was just ok but then with the icing- they were just over the top delicious.  Normal Pioneer Woman style.  I hope you make these and enjoy them.  Do it quick before fall gets here!

Leave a Reply

