Tubes and God Go Together

This morning at church the topic of discussion was tithing. Everyone’s favorite topic right? Our church normally does a great job NOT talking about money but right now our church is having space problems and money is needed and so here’s the talk. The first point Jim Hall makes is that God owns everything. Immediately what came to my mind is something I have been saying over and over in my head. “He is mine.” I am saying this in regards to my son, Noah. Now I no now Jim was not talking about my son but I think God wanted to remind me that my son is His first. Now you may be wondering why I have been saying that statement in my head over and over, well its because my son has to get tubes this week. My five month old son who has had four infections and constantly has fluid in his ears is scheduled to have tubes put in his ears on Wednesday. Now you are probably thinking “oh it’s just tubes, it will be great for him, not a big deal.” Wrong. Well partially wrong. It will make him feel better which is fantastic. My baby has been sick more than a baby should. So helping him feel better would be great. Also, he normally wakes up three times a night still because he is in pain or just used to waking up because it has become a habit. So sleep will be great. But what is wrong about that statement is that it is a big deal. It’s a big deal that a five month old has had to be on four antibiotics, it’s a big deal that his sister is used to hearing me say that I have to take Noah to the doctor and she asks “who is going to come play with me?” meaning who is going to watch her while I go to the dr. It’s a big deal that my five month old who was created perfectly in my eyes has to have his ears altered. It’s a big deal that he has to have anesthesia. It’s just a big deal to me people. Now I do believe that he will be in less pain and hopefully be less sick. I do believe a better life will come for him after this procedure. After this morning in church I need to realize that he is mine but he is also God’s baby and I need to trust God and just relax a little bit. I know he is in control in my head now I need to let my heart follow.

“to the Lord your God belong the heavens, even the highest heavens, the earth and everything in it”
Deuteronomy 10:14

“For by Him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities, all things were created by him and for him”
Colossians 1:16

20120401-134902.jpg

Here is a picture of this handsome boy after church this morning. LOVE

2 thoughts on “Tubes and God Go Together

  1. Shannon, it is a bug deal, all of it, anesthesia got a baby is a huge deal! I will be praying for all of you this week. It’s not easy no matter what the procedure is. Hang in there, lots of love and prayers sent your way.

  2. Love this post. Everything and everyone is His, and believe it or not He loves Noah more than you or anyone else. You know I will be praying!! I love you!

Leave a Reply

