Whoopie Pies!

I made whoopie pies y’all.   Now a long time ago I attempted some whoopie pies and wrote about them in this blog post.  I said I would attempt them again and write about them.  Well, here is the second (and much better) attempt.  I am really pleased how these turned out.  First thing that really helped my whoopie pies this time was getting a whoopie pie pan.  In an article I read about them, it said you don’t need a pan…well I do.  Without a pan mine turned out hideous but with a pan, beautiful! 🙂  Here is a picture of Hadley and I starting the process of making the whoopie pies.

Making the batter

After the batter is made and the best part is licking the utensils!

The best part!

She loves licking the batter.  I do try sometimes to contain the amount she eats.  Sometimes.

Cooling

Here are the cake parts cooling and then piping the icing.  This icing is the most fluffy and delicious icing ever!

Whoopie Pies

Here is the end product.  Hadley loved it.

Loving the whoopie pie!

Hadley has AMAZING blue eyes.  This is just a great picture of her eyes.

Killer Blue Eyes

The recipe is from Paula Deen.  If you haven’t figured it out, I kind of like her.

Whoopie Pie

1 3/4 cups plus 2 Tablespoons flour

1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

10 T butter, softened

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 T vanilla

1 c. buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a medium bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt.

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar at medium speed with a mixer until fluffy.  Add egg, egg yolk, and vanilla; beat until combined.  Gradually add flour mixture to butter mixture alternately with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour mixture, beating just until dry ingredients are incorporated after each addition.  Add two tablespoons to each well and then bake for about 13 minutes.  Cool on wire rack (the small side of the cake facing up).

Chocolate Filling

1/2 c. heavy whipping cream

1/4 t salt

1 1/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 c. butter, softened

3/4 confectioners’ sugar

In a small saucepan heat cream over medium heat until steaming.  Stir in salt.  place chocolate chips in a bowl and pour hot cream over chocolate.  Cool.

Add butter to chocolate mixture; beat at medium speed with a mixer until fully incorporated.  Gradually add confectioners’ sugar, 1/4 cup at a time; beat until smooth.

This icing y’all, is some of the best icing I have ever had.  It is soo fluffy and light and delicious!  I think I will make this icing any time I want any chocolate icing.

To make the whoopie pies, I piped the chocolate icing inside and sandwiched the cake pieces together.  I also rolled some of mine in Valentine’s sprinkles.  Hadley LOVED that part!  She loves sprinkles, just like her mommy 🙂

Leave a Reply

