Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hadley started gymnastics today.  It was one of the cutest things ever.  She LOVED it!  I thought since this was the first time she would be shy.  Ya know, new people, new place, doing new things, structure, but no- she totally joined in on the fun.  She worked on her forward rolls, doing things on the trampoline (like a seat drop), and walking and rolling on the balance beam.  It is a mommy and me class and so I really hope I can figure out a way to continue class once Noah makes his appearance.  I wish I could have video taped some of it or at least taken pictures but since it was a mommy and me class I felt like I should have been participating instead of documenting.  She came home though and was soo excited to show Daddy what she had learned.  She felt like a star when she was showing him.  She is our little star.

My favorite cookie ever is a soft, warm, homemade, chocolate chip cookie.  I can NEVER turn one down.  I can also never turn down a Subway chocolate chip cookie because they are delicious and soft.  Always.  That is neither here nor there.  Today I made some chocolate chip cookies.  There is not a secret ingredient but they are delicious.  Last week I cooked some chocolate chip cookies with a “secret ingredient” and they were not near as good as these.  That is why I had to bake these today.  Here is the recipe.  Recipe from Southern Living.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

3/4 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons of flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 (12 oz) package semi-sweet chocolate chips

Beat butter and sugars at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy.  Add eggs and vanilla, beating until blended.

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl and gradually add to butter mixture, beating well.  Stir in chocolate chip.  Drop by tablespoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees for 8 to 14 minutes or until desired degree of doneness.  Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Now the key to making them DELICIOUS is to only cook them for 8 or 9 minutes.  I know they don’t look done but they keep cooking a little bit once out of the oven and they are gooey deliciousness when only left in the oven for 8-9 minutes.  PROMISE.  If you like crispy cookies just disregard this paragraph, or maybe this whole post.  Soft, gooey cookies all the way!  Yummmmmmm….

Oh and I tried to post a picture but for some reason it is not working.  But y’all know what chocolate chip cookies look like and my pictures are not good anyways.  Sorry about that.

Leave a Reply

