Chocolate Crinkles

Let me remind everyone that I am pregnant.  I am in my third trimester and this trimester hit me like a BUS.  I am ALWAYS tired.  (Remember nap time from the previous post?)  Little Noah is a busy, busy boy in my belly.  Yesterday he was moving soo much and I was having soo many of those pesky little Braxton Hicks contractions my belly muscles were TIRED and so was I.  Luckily today was not near as bad.

Tomorrow Noah and Hadley’s rooms are getting painted.  We weren’t going to paint Hadley’s big girl room unless we needed to paint Noah’s room.  We need to paint Noah’s room and I am excited to see what it looks like.  So tomorrow we are stuck at our house all day tomorrow because painters will be here all day.  It will be kind of crazy trying to keep Hadley away from the painters and out of the paint.  The real problem will be that we are leaving for Hilton Head, South Carolina on Thursday morning so I also have to pack Hadley and I up for our trip.  It will be an interesting day to say the least.

Luckily I have some yummy treats to keep me company.  The other day I went to a fun playdate at a mom’s house in my playgroup.  I brought chocolate crinkles to the playdate.  I think they were a hit.  If they weren’t a huge hit there, our good friend Burke, thinks they are one of the best cookies I have made…and he has eaten a lot of my cookies.  He would know.  Now I know I said something about whoopie pies, but I think I am going to wait until I have a better outcome with those.  Here are some delicious chocolate cookies.  The recipe is from Betty Crocker.

Chocolate Crinkles

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 teaspoons of vanilla

4 oz unsweetened backing chocolate, melted and cooled

4 large eggs

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup powdered sugar

In large bowl, stir sugar, oil, vanilla, and chocolate until well mixed.  Stir in eggs, one at a time.  Stir in flour, baking powder and salt.  Cover and refrigerate at least 3 hours.

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease cookie sheets with cooking spray.

Shape dough into balls, each ball being about a teaspoon.  Then drop into powdered sugar and roll around.  On cookie sheet, place balls about 2 inch apart.

bake 10-12 minutes or until almost no indentation remains when touched.  Immediately remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.

Makes a lot of cookies!

These cookies are delicious and I hope you make some and enjoy them yourself!  Hopefully they will keep me company tomorrow 🙂  I will post pictures of vacation and of the babies rooms next week when we get back in town.

Leave a Reply

