Combo Deal!

So my husband, Nathan works part-time at a bike shop in town.  When he started working here he also joined a new bike racing team with a lot of the guys he works with.  When he first joined the team wanted to know how he could contribute to the team.  I said I could contribute by baking yummy stuff for them.  That was over a year ago and they still seem pleased and haven’t kicked him off the cycling team yet 🙂  So yesterday I made them something yummy and fattening but SUPER easy!  I am going to share it with y’all.  It is called Sopapilla Cheesecake.  I got this recipe from my aunt, who got it from someone she works with I think.

Sopapilla Cheesecake

3 (8oz) blocks of cream cheese, softened

1 stick of butter

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

2 cups of sugar, divided

2 packages of crescent rolls

cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease 9 x 13 pan.  Unroll one of the crescent roll packages and lay on the bottom of the pan.  Mix together (with a mixer) cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and vanilla.  Spread cream cheese mixture on top of crescent roll.  Then layer with second package of crescent roll, unroll and lay on top.  (Crescent rolls are like the crust).  Melt butter and pour on top of crescent roll.  Sprinkle remaining amount of sugar (1/2 cup) onto melted butter.  Sprinkle cinnamon on top.  Stick it in the oven for 30 minutes and out comes creamy delicious-ness.  Here is a picture, taken with a real camera!

It is simple and delicious.  I know I already said it is delicious but it is true.  DELICIOUS.  I dropped this whole pan off at the bike shop yesterday around 4:30.  When Nathan brought it home last night around 6:30 it was almost completely gone.  There was only about one piece left.  Those boys DEVOURED this dessert!  I am glad they liked it.

Now I titled this post combo deal and that is because I am going to talk about my babies and baking.  How fun right?  Two things I love and since you are reading this, you should love them too.  Well last night we got Noah’s bedding.  We thought it was going to be light blue and brown.  We get it and it is not those colors- we were afraid this was going to happen.  Not a big deal though, we still like it.  The colors technically are mocha and oatmeal.  Not sure how we missed that but we did.  We realized now we have some work to do on his room.  It is going to have to be painted and we need things to match the bedding (bumper and crib dust ruffle).  I will post pictures (hopefully) when I figure out what we are going to do in there.  Right now it does not look very good in there.

Now something that looks great are some little something-something I got in the mail today.  I DIED when I opened the package.  I was just the giddiest girl in the world at that moment.  Here is a picture to show you what I am talking about.

I mean really?  Can you imagine them next summer wearing these outfits?  They will definitely be THE cutest thing on the block!  Hadley liked them too.  She somehow knew which one was hers (and kind of, which one was Noah’s).  Fun times.  Alright, go make some sopapilla cheesecake!

7 thoughts on “Combo Deal!

  1. Love the outfits!! I gave you the sopapilla cheesecake recipe, I got it from a friend at work!! It’s awesome and so easy to make!! Love you!

  2. Pingback: Crawdad Days and the Weekend « bowersbakingandbabies

Leave a Reply

