We Got Chickens!

I have been wanting chickens for a while now but Nathan was not interested.  I really didn’t know anything about raising chickens but somewhere in my dream land I grow my own produce, get local meat and dairy, have chickens (for eggs, not meat), grind my own wheat, ya know, do it all!  Well, chickens were something I thought we actually could do- even though, again, I didn’t know anything about raising chickens.  For the past couple years we get our eggs from a guy Nathan works with who raises chickens.  I think it can’t be too hard right?  So anyways, a couple of weeks ago, out of NO WHERE Nathan comes home and says let’s get chickens! WHHAAAATTT?  Where did that come from?  Well, I have no idea where it came from.  I think it partially came from the guy Nathan works with, they must talk about it a lot.  So anyways, I have enough going on right now (this was before two weddings in Dallas, we just planted a garden, I have two kids and expect another one SOMETIME…) so if he wanted to do this then he needed to do the research.  So he did.  A couple of weeks later we had two chicks in our bathroom.

Here are the lovely ladies!

Here are the lovely ladies!

This is Alexandria and Eleanor!  Hadley named them and I think she did a great job naming them.  Sometimes we call Alexandria, Allie for short.  Aren’t they cute?  Alexandria is a black sexlink and Eleanor is a silver laced wyandotte.  We are pretty excited for these ladies to join our family.

Alexandria and Eleanor

Alexandria and Eleanor

The dogs have met them and I am pretty sure Digger knows to not bug them and Gracie could care less.  We haven’t left the dogs and chicks together, alone, yet but I do hope they all become great friends!  The chicks will live in our bathroom for a couple more weeks (I think) but we are planning on getting two more chicks in a couple of weeks and they will also live in our bathroom.  Eventually they will move outside into a chicken coop, which will be in our backyard.

their home

their home

They adore their new pets

They adore their new pets

In the city of Fayetteville we are only allowed to have four chickens, no roosters, and they have to stay in their coop at all times.  That last part makes me sad because ideally I wanted them to roam around the backyard.  Hopefully we can let them roam some, just without the city knowing ;)

Hadley always loves them

Hadley always loves them

Noah is not always sure what to think

Noah is not always sure what to think

The chickens won’t produce eggs until they are about 20 weeks old.  So about 4.5-5 months old.  They are about 2.5 weeks old now, ish.  I am not really sure their exact birthday.  It is certainly fun having them right now though, even though they aren’t producing eggs yet.  They are cute.  We enjoy “playing” with them.  We take them out of their crate and let them roam around on our legs or on the floor.

She LOVES her new chicks

She LOVES her new chicks

Again adoring them

Again adoring them

It has been fun to see them grow and gain strength in the very short amount of time we have had them.  They flap their wings a lot more when we pick them up, and they have tried to fly a little bit.  I don’t think they will be able to fly soon but they try, and it is cute.

They snuck out of their home and pooped.

They snuck out of their home and pooped.

Here, they hopped on top of the water container (I think) and then hopped on out of their crate onto the tub rim.  They also pooped.  These guys poop everywhere.  This morning Hadley actually got pooped on, on her pjs.  She did such a good job though staying calm and just said she was done holding them.  Nathan has added some cardboard around the crate now so they can’t jump out.

Here are the lovely ladies earlier today

Here are the lovely ladies earlier today

This picture was taken this afternoon.  Notice the towel, so when they pooped it wasn’t on me but on the towel.  Which is a good thing because they pooped at least three times on the towel.  Pooping machines.  Well, I will continue to update y’all with their progress and whenever we get new ones but for now Eleanor and Alexandria are bestest of friends and I love it.  I love already how much my kids have learned from this experience and it excites me for everything they will learn in the future.  One huge motivation of getting these chickens is to help teach our kids about where their food comes from.  I think they are really going to enjoy finding those eggs.

One thought on “We Got Chickens!

  1. Pingback: Chicken Update | bowersbakingandbabies

Leave a Reply

